Tuesday, June 30, 2009

Bass Atomix (DnB Mix)

Here's a little something for my people that like raves and the London scene. I'm a big fan of DnB and have been spinning it for a few years now (since '91 to be exact). All tracks in this mix are fresh for 2009. Log on to my site at DJKoolEmdee.com to download the mix.

Mixed by DJ Kool Emdee @ The Record Realm 6/29/09.

1. Muffler - Falling (2009 VIP)
2. Marqus - Angel
3. DJ Origin - Breaking Heartz
4. Pappa G - She Knew
5. Drumagick - So Far Away
6. Mistabishi - The Lights Really Bad
7. DJ Samurai - Stairway
8. Ed Rush - Space Monkey
9. EZ Rollers - Here I Am
10. Chase & Status ft. Kano - Against All Odds (Xample Rmx)
11. Quadrant & Cease - Built For War
12. Hallucinator - Present & Future
13. Trisector - Structured Light
14. High Contrast - Twilights Last Gleaming

Monday, June 29, 2009

Down With The King: MJ

On Thursday June 25, 2009, the whole world was at shock and a standstill to hear about the man we all know as Michael Jackson passing away from cardiac arrest. Along with myself, many are still in disbelief. With the album "Thriller", which sold 26+ times platinum, Michael was the only person to have 5 number one hits on a single album and to have an album to chart as number one at the same time. Composer, writer, inventor, artist, and known to all as the world's greatest entertainer or "The King of Pop", Michael will be missed by us all. Thank you Mr. Jackson!

This is the flyer for a tribute we did for Michael back in 2007, which I did a special mix for the patrons who came out to support. Below is the track listing for the mix, which was recently remastered, and features original tracks and remixes of Michael Jackson tunes by DJ Kool Emdee, DJ Spinna, DJ Bobo James, and more.

1. History (DJ Kool Emdee Remix)
2. "I'm Michael Jackson" Interlude
3. Jackson 5 - We're Almost There (DJ Spinna Remix)
4. Jackson 5 - Good Thing Goin' (DJ Bobo James Remix)
5. Jackson 5 - ABC (Konishi Yasuharu's Readymade Mix)
6. Thriller
7. Off The Wall
8. Don't Stop Til You Get Enough
9. Jam (DJ Kool Emdee Coolie Dance Refix)
10. P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing)
11. I Wanna Rock With You
12. Wanna Be Startin' Something
13. Smooth Criminal (DJ Kool Emdee's Funky Fatback Mix)
14. Shake Your Body Down To The Ground
15. Remember The Time (Emdee's State of Shock Mix)
16. Billie Jean
17. Bad (MJ The Shiznit Walks Remix) by DJ Kool Emdee
18. Scream ft. Janet Jackson
19. You Rock My World
20. Jackson 5 - I'll Be There
21. Jackson 5 - Never Can Say Goodbye

Mixed by DJ Kool Emdee @ The Record Realm 10/8/07

Tuesday, June 16, 2009

Kickin' It Live

Here's the latest installment of Erykah Badu's LIVE performance CDs while she was on tour after her latest release New Amerykah Part One: 4th World War. Sometime this year she is set to release New Amerykah Part Two: Return of the Ankh. Later this summer Erykah Badu has scheduled performances at the 2009 Bonnaroo Festival in Manchester, Tennessee and on Memorial Day at the Jazz-Reggae Festival at UCLA. Be sure to support Ms. Erykah by purchasing her bodies of work and by visiting her website at ErykahBadu.com.

Erykah Badu Live

I'm back...

Yes indeed I am. After a hiatus to tie up some loose ends, and landing a few gigs along the way, i'm gonna take the time to make more posts as often as possible. While I was away, I had the pleasure of meeting a couple of young CEOs who head the Flyy 68 Clothing Co. and are planning to release a new line of t-shirts (to start) and other gear inspired by the 1968 Olympics, when Tommy Smith and Juan Carlos held up the power fist after winning medals in track & field. I personally would like to thank them and my agent T. Piper for the opportunity of being a model for their first line of tees. I wish these guys much success.